top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTiarraLaTrese'

Labor and Delivery: My Story


My Crazy labor and delivery started off like this...


Well...I will take you to the day before I gave birth. I went to the hospital around 8pm with consistent contractions every 4 to 5 minutes lasting about 45 seconds apart. I got to the hospital and checked in. They took me back to the triage room and had me get changed and take a urine sample. They placed me on the monitors and checked my cervix. At this time I was about 3 cm but still having consistent contractions. They had me walk the halls to see if any changes would occur in an hour. After walking the halls for an hour they had me come back and checked my cervix. Of course...there weren't any changes in my cervix so they sent me home. Even though I was STILL having consistent uncomfortable contractions.


So, at this point I was just really frustrated. I really felt like I was in early labor and this was like the 3rd time going to the hospital for contractions. But, nevertheless, we left the hospital, stopped and got something to eat and went home. So, we got home maybe around 11pm. I was determined to have this baby. I knew that my contractions weren't braxton-hicks. They were different! So...I started walking around my house, walking up and down the stairs. I then ran me a nice bath and lit some candles and listened to my hypnobirthing music. After, I got out the bath, I bounced on my birthing ball for a little while and then inserted one of my evening primrose oil pills. I tried laying down but I was still having contractions. But, they seemed like they were getting worse. At this point, It was maybe 3 in the morning. I was texting my Mother-in-law and she told me to go back to the hospital. I was so upset from them sending me home that night...I refused and said I would just wait until I couldn't take the pain anymore. About 45 minutes passed and they were getting really intense. I called my sister and she told me to go to the hospital as well. I guess she could hear the "labor cry" in my voice...lol! My husband woke up out of his sleep because he heard me moaning (not that kind of moaning....lol) but at this point the contractions were getting much stronger. He told me to get ready to go to the hospital...I'm still refusing!


Side note: It is really frustrating when you know your in pain and you go to the hospital and they just push it off as no big deal. Yes, I know all of the other times I went having contractions I wasn't in labor but....in my defense...I was having contractions and they felt pretty real to me...lol. But, It makes you hesitant to go because you feel like they are just going to send you home.


Now, back to the story. So...he was listening to me say how I wasn't going back to the hospital all while he was waking my older girls up and getting them dressed and everything. He got my clothes out and told me to get dressed. So, I just gave up and got dressed and we got in the car. I remember as I was trying to step in the car, I had a contraction and had to lean up against the door because I couldn't step in. So...it took all of 5 minutes to get to the hospital( I think he ran a couple of lights...but it was like 4:30/5 in the morning and no one was on the road). But, he dropped me off at the door and my daughter walked in with me. I got to the receptionist desk and asked how to get to labor and delivery but the man at the desk was looking at me with that look and asked if I needed a wheelchair.


Another sidenote: Okay, guys so I am the type of person that likes to make everything simpler for everyone else and I always try to keep an "S" on my chest and think I have this invisible cape on.


So...of course I declined but walked 2 steps and started having a contractions and had to sit down at the nearest bench. He told me to stay put and called for labor and delivery to come and get me with a chair. So, I got back to labor and delivery and they told my husband to wait in the waiting room since he had my daughters with him. I got back to triage and they told me to get dressed in a gown and give a urine sample...let me remind you by this time contractions were EXTREMELY painful and coming about every 3 minutes. But, with that "S" on my chest I did what they asked me to do and then she hooked the contraction monitor up and said the nurse would be in shortly. There wasn't anyone in the triage and it took the nurse about 25 minutes before she came in. :/


Well...once she came in she looked at my contractions and I told her that I didn't think it was picking my contractions up. I told her, I was in a lot of pain! She said, "Oh, well why do you think that..I can see contractions but they are just really tiny." I told her, No...I am in pain. She she told me that all she could do was check me...so I said okay. So, she got her gloves on and checked me and said...oh, you are in active labor, you're about 5/6 cm with a bulging bag...let me get you a room. So she took her hand out and turned around and I said, "I think my water just broke!" . She looked down at the bed and said yes, you're membrane just ruptured and ran to get me a bed to transport me to a laboring room. So, I was in a laboring within about 5 minutes after she checked me.


Now, this is where things go pretty fast!


I told her, that last pregnancy after my water breaks the baby comes fast. She said okay! We can have your husband and your kids come back now since you are in a room. So, I immediately was asking for medicine...I honestly asked as soon as I got there...lol. But, anyway she said okay as soon as I get your IV in I will get your meds...they tried to get my IV in and blood drawn for about 5 minutes (I have tiny veins) and I said, "I think I have to push!" She same nurse that had a smart comment about me saying that I was having contractions said "Well, yeah her contractions still aren't showing on the monitor. But, she said she has to push" in a real dry voice. (My husband noticed it too, so it wasn't just me). But, anyway the midwife came in and said okay go ahead and check her. She said, "Oh, she is fully dilated!" and the midwife said go ahead and push when you feel ready! I pushed 3 times and my baby was out!!!


And to think that I was just going to stay home...I gave birth within an hour of being at the hospital!


Click the link below to watch my labor and delivery story on Youtube!

*Link coming soon*


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page